Most of us at some point or another have had a “lead foot” behind the wheel.
F.S. 316.183 prohibits unlawful speed while driving. Whether a speed is unlawful is determined by:
- The posted speed limit;
- The conditions and existing potential and actual hazards.
Our Fort Lauderdale speeding ticket attorneys at The Ansara Law Firm can help you challenge a speeding ticket and reduce the chance of points on your license, hefty fines and educational requirements. Fighting a speeding ticket in Florida is especially important if you have a commercial license, particularly if you were driving for work at the time you were cited.
Speeding tickets are the most common type of ticket issued to drivers in Florida. State officials estimate more than 500,000 speeding tickets are issued by local and state law enforcement every year.
Some think it’s cheaper just to pay the fine and move on. But the reality is a speeding ticket could end up costing you big-time. More points on your license means higher insurance rates. And if you’ve already got a fair amount of points on your license, you could be facing down a driver’s license suspension.
Speeding may also come with harsher penalties if it occurred in a school zone or in a street race.
At The Ansara Law Firm, we know how to beat traffic tickets. In many cases, your attorney can appear in court on your behalf and handle the ticket without the need for you to appear. If you have received a speeding ticket in Broward, Palm Beach or Maimi-Dade Counties, we can help.Unlawful Speed
Unlawful speed, as cited in F.S. 316.183, is when a vehicle drives on a highway at a speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under the conditions. In every scenario, speed should be controlled with due care to avoid hitting any person, vehicle, or object.
On all streets or highways in Florida, maximum posted speed limits are:
- 30 mph in business or residential districts;
- 55 mph at any time at all other locations;
- 20 – 25 mph in certain residential districts or on streets or highways where an investigation determines a lower limits is reasonable;
- A minimum of 40 mph on highways, except when the posted speed limit is 70 mph, in which case the minimum is 50 mph.
Speed limits can also be set lower if there is road construction work going on or in active school zones.Speed Limit Violations
Violation of the speed limits are cited as moving violations, and they are punished according to F.S. Chapter 318.
There are several types of speeding tickets you can receive in Florida, depending on what the speed limit is and how fast you were allegedly going.
- 6-9 MPH Over - $76 - $81. 3 Points on your license. In many cases, an officer may have caught you going faster, but is trying to cut you a break. Even so, these tickets can often be pleaded down to a lesser offense. If you simply pay the ticket, it’s an admission of guilt and you will incur the points and whatever other penalties the court imposes.
- 10-14 MPH Over - $137.50 - $155.50. 3 Points on your license. This is one of the most typical traffic tickets. Again, you could just pay the ticket and/ or go to traffic school, but again, you’re going to incur points and other penalties. Hire a traffic lawyer who understands how to challenge these tickets and how best to negotiate for a minimal impact on your driving record and insurance rates.
- 15 – 19 MPH Over - $158.50 - $180.50. 4 Points on your license.
- 20 – 29 MPH Over - $178.50 - $205.50. 4 Points on your license.
- 30 – 49 mph Over - $260.50 - $305.50. 4 Points on your license. If you are traveling more than 30 mph over the speed limit, the traffic ticket will require a mandatory hearing. It’s especially important to hire an attorney for these proceedings because your attorney can help you avoid the process of an arraignment and attend the mandatory hearing in your place. This usually works to your advantage because there is no reason you can personally give a judge that will prompt them to want to cut you some slack. Best to let your attorney explain.
- 50 MPH Over or more – Minimum $1,000 fine. At least 4 points on your license. You might also be facing reckless driving and other charges, which could mean your points will quickly be adding up. If you amazingly did not cause a crash while traveling this fast, the judge still probably isn’t likely to go easy on you. You will need an attorney who fully understands all the legal technicalities and can deftly negotiate on your behalf.
- Speeding Resulting in a Crash – At least 6 points on your license.
Those with Commercial Driver’s Licenses (CDL) too need to be aware that a speeding ticket could affect your livelihood. A second-time offense within three years can result in a 60-day CDL disqualification. A third serious offense within three years will result in a 120day disqualification. A driver operating 15 mph or more above the posted speed while towing a trailer risks having their license suspended.
Our experienced traffic ticket attorneys in Fort Lauderdale can help.
Contact the experienced Fort Lauderdale criminal defense lawyers at The Ansara Law Firm by calling (954) 761-4011 or toll-free at (877)-ARREST-0 (277-3780).