Driving While License Suspended
According to Palm Beach State Attorney David Aronberg, Driving With a Suspended or Revoked License pursuant to Florida State Statute s. 322.24 is the most common crime committed in the State of Florida. License suspension is a common penalty resulting from numerous civil infractions or criminal charges such as simple drug possession charges, unpaid tickets, failure to pay child support obligations, DUI, etc. Oftentimes people drive with a suspended license simply because they didn’t know it was suspended. Attorneys Richard Ansara and associates of The Ansara Law Firm have handled thousands of these cases with fantastic results for their clients.
Most DWS charges are simple moving violations issued to people who operated their vehicle without knowing that their license was placed under suspension. Anyone who unknowingly operates a vehicle on Florida’s roadways after their license has been suspended, revoked or cancelled is guilty of a moving violation and could be obligated to pay fines of $500 and receive points on their license. Additionally, the insurance company may be notified and premiums may increase as a result of convictions for Driving While License Suspended.
The penalties for Driving While License Suspended knowingly are more severe. Instead of a civil infraction with a few hundred dollars in court fees, it becomes a criminal case resulting in a misdemeanor charge. First offense of this subsection is a second-degree misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of up to $500 and up to 60 days in jail. A second offense of this kind will result in a larger fine and up to 1 year in jail and/or a $1,000 fine with a first-degree misdemeanor charge. The third time a person is found guilty of this crime will result in them being labeled as a habitual offender, receiving a third-degree felony charge punishable by up to 5 years in prison and/or a fine of $5,000.
A Habitual Offender as defined by the State is any person who commits three or more of the following offenses within 5 years:
- Voluntary or involuntary manslaughter resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle;
- Any violation of s. 316.193, former s. 316.1931, or former s. 860.01;
- Any felony in the commission of which a motor vehicle is used;
- Driving a motor vehicle while his or her license is suspended or revoked;
- Failing to stop and render aid as required under the laws of this state in the event of a motor vehicle crash resulting in the death or personal injury of another; or
- Driving a commercial motor vehicle while his or her privilege is disqualified.
- Fifteen convictions for moving traffic offenses for which points may be assessed as set forth in s. 322.27, including those offenses in subsection (1).
Those who are labeled as Habitual Traffic Offenders are typically given stiffer sentences with less gain time and no early prison release. If you already have more than one of these offenses on your record, it is imperative that you retain The Ansara Law Firm in order to ensure that you will not be labeled as a Habitual Traffic Offender and treated accordingly in court. The justice system is very complicated and misunderstandings are frequent. Let our Fort Lauderdale traffic attorneys guide you throughout the process while we operate with your best interests in mind.
If you or a loved one was recently arrested or cited for driving under a suspended license, call The Ansara Law Firm today at (954) 761-4011 to schedule an appointment in our Dade, Broward, or Palm Beach offices.